NAHF Names Congressional Leadership Award Recipients | Aero-News Network
Aero-News Network
RSS icon RSS feed
podcast icon MP3 podcast
Subscribe Aero-News e-mail Newsletter Subscribe

Airborne Unlimited -- Most Recent Daily Episodes

Episode Date



Airborne-Wednesday Airborne-Thursday


Airborne On YouTube






Sun, Aug 27, 2023

NAHF Names Congressional Leadership Award Recipients

The Emperors’ New Awards

The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) Board of Trustees has named the distinguished recipients of the inaugural National Aviation Hall of Fame Congressional Leadership Award.

Chairman of the Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure, Congressman Sam Graves, and Ranking Member of the Senate Veterans Affairs Committee, Ranking Member Senate Commerce Committee -Aviation Subcommittee, Senator Jerry Moran, will be honored for their outstanding contributions to American Aviation and Aerospace.

Established by the NAHF Board of Trustees, the Congressional Leadership Award pays homage to exceptional American leaders whose dedicated public service has bolstered the nation's strength and significantly propelled advancements in aviation and aerospace. This novel award series seeks to recognize individuals of remarkable character and integrity whose service and initiatives have significantly impacted the United States' continued global leadership in aeronautics.

NAHF Chair Jim Cooling enthusiastically stated, "We couldn't envision more deserving recipients for this inaugural honor. Congressman Graves and Senator Moran's unwavering commitment to advancing general aviation, enhancing aviation safety, fostering education, and promoting accessibility has left an indelible mark on the industry and our nation. We extend our heartfelt gratitude to them for their leadership and are honored to present them with this prestigious award."

The awards will be formally presented during The President's Reception, scheduled for 21 September 2023, as part of the National Aviation Hall of Fame's 59th  Enshrinement Dinner and Ceremony. The President's Reception will also feature the presentation of the A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Teacher of the Year Award, The Milton Caniff Spirit of Flight Award, and the Armstrong Aerospace Award.

Taking place on 22 September 2023, the Enshrinement Dinner and Ceremony, led by emcee CNN's Pete Muntean, will feature the formal induction of the NAHF Enshrinee Class of 2023. This remarkable class includes pioneers (the late) Velta Benn and (the late) Cornelius Coffey, visionaries Angela Gittens and (the late) Ed Stimpson, and aerospace heroes Fred Haise and Kathryn Sullivan.

Over the course of two days in Washington D.C., aviation enthusiasts, government and industry leaders, and esteemed returning Enshrinees, such as Major General Charles Bolden, Colonel Eileen Collins, Captain Robert Crippen, Captain Robert "Hoot" Gibson, Clay Lacy, Sean Doherty Tucker, and others, will convene to celebrate aviation's legacy and future.

Founded in 1962, the National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) is at once a museum, an annual awards ceremony, and a learning and research center. Based in Dayton, Ohio—a city broadly known as the Birthplace of Aviation on account of its connection to Orville and Wilbur Wright, both of whom were born and buried therein—the NAHF was chartered nationally by an act of the U.S. 88th Congress and signed into existence by President Lyndon B. Johnson.

By commemorating the tenacity, vision, persistence, skill, and courage of key aeronautical figures, the NAHF seeks in perpetuity to sustain its stated mission of: “Honoring aerospace legends to inspire future leaders.”

Parties interested in securing additional information pertaining to or reservations for the 59th NAHF Annual Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony are invited to visit the National Aviation Hall of Fame website.



More News

Classic Aero-TV: The Ultimate 'Solo' Trip -- Cameron Balloons' Sky Hopper

From 2011 (YouTube Version): A Unique, Affordable and Isolated way to Enjoy Ballooning Ballooning is both a unique as well as eclectic pursuit... and it attracts (naturally) a pret>[...]

Aero-News: Quote of the Day (07.14.24)

"Aviation in Alaska is essential to the transportation infrastructure. Many of our Alaskan customers rely on our products to access their homes, their communities, and run their bu>[...]

ANN's Daily Aero-Term (07.14.24): Approach Speed

Approach Speed The recommended speed contained in aircraft manuals used by pilots when making an approach to landing. This speed will vary for different segments of an approach as >[...]

ANN's Daily Aero-Linx (07.14.24)

Aero Linx: Japan Business Aviation Association (JBAA) The Japan Business Aircraft Association (JBAA) was established in May 1996 as an incorporated nonprofit organization (in April>[...]

ANN's Daily Aero-Term (07.15.24): Apron

Apron A defined area on an airport or heliport intended to accommodate aircraft for purposes of loading or unloading passengers or cargo, refueling, parking, or maintenance. With r>[...]

blog comments powered by Disqus





© 2007 - 2024 Web Development & Design by Pauli Systems, LC