Collier Trophy Selection Committee Includes Three Recipients | Aero-News Network
Aero-News Network
RSS icon RSS feed
podcast icon MP3 podcast
Subscribe Aero-News e-mail Newsletter Subscribe

Airborne Unlimited -- Most Recent Daily Episodes

Episode Date



Airborne-Wednesday Airborne-Thursday


Airborne On YouTube






Sun, Feb 06, 2011

Collier Trophy Selection Committee Includes Three Recipients

One-Hundredth Presentation To Take Place In March

Neil Armstrong (1969), Dick Rutan (1986) and Richard Truly (1988) will participate in the Selection Committee for the 100th presentation of the Robert J. Collier Trophy, the National Aeronautic Association announced Thursday. NAA released the list of nominees as well as the entire Selection Committee membership.

The nominees are:

  • Automatic Ground Collision Avoidance System
  • Fighter Risk Reduction Program Team
  • General Aviation: Saving Thousands of Lives in Haiti
  • MC-12W Project Liberty Team
  • Orion Launch Abort System Development Team
  • Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation and the X2 Technology Demonstrator Team
  • The Boeing Company C-17A Globemaster III Team
  • X-51A WaveRider Team

The Collier Trophy, billed as the "Greatest Award in Aviation," has been considered by some to be the benchmark of aviation and aerospace achievement for over 100 years. Awarded annually "….for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America," it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals and accomplishments in our nation's history. Past winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield, Elmer Sperry and Howard Hughes. Projects and programs which have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Polaris Missile, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program, the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the Gulfstream V, the F-22 and the International Space Station.

Led by NAA Chairman Walter J. Boyne, the Selection Committee will consist of 30 leaders representing organizations throughout aviation and aerospace.

"We are extremely pleased with the list of nominations we have received for the Collier this year," said Boyne.  "These projects reflect the extraordinary diversity of individuals and achievements found in our aviation and aerospace industry.  I look forward to sharing the selection process with this exceptional group of professionals."

The Selection Committee will meet on Monday, March 14, in Arlington, Virginia, and the winner will be announced the next day, March 15, at the NAA Spring Awards Luncheon. The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place on May 5 at the 100th Anniversary Collier Dinner in Arlington, Virginia. 



More News

ANN's Daily Aero-Term (07.18.24): Parallel ILS Approaches

Parallel ILS Approaches Approaches to parallel runways by IFR aircraft which, when established inbound toward the airport on the adjacent final approach courses, are radar-separate>[...]

ANN's Daily Aero-Linx (07.18.24)

Aero Linx: Seaplane Pilots Association The Seaplane Pilots Association is the only organization in the world solely focused on representing the interests of seaplane pilots, owners>[...]

Airborne 07.15.24: Airplane Thief, Joe Engle Goes West, B-29 To Decatur

Also: Boeing Deliveries, Caravan STC, Ukraine F-16s, Bell 505 Mexican Tour A 28-year-old man residing in Concord, California, is out on bail after being arrested in connection with>[...]

Aero-News: Quote of the Day (07.19.24)

“It was getting old. We had some hurricane damage. The rudder blew off one time.” Source: Fantasy of Flight's Kermit Weeks, explaining the legend behind the DC-3 that a>[...]

ANN's Daily Aero-Term (07.19.24): En Route Automation System (EAS)

En Route Automation System (EAS) The complex integrated environment consisting of situation display systems, surveillance systems and flight data processing, remote devices, decisi>[...]

blog comments powered by Disqus





© 2007 - 2024 Web Development & Design by Pauli Systems, LC