Space Camp Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced | Aero-News Network
Aero-News Network
RSS icon RSS feed
podcast icon MP3 podcast
Subscribe Aero-News e-mail Newsletter Subscribe

Airborne Unlimited -- Most Recent Daily Episodes

Episode Date



Airborne-Wednesday Airborne-Thursday


Airborne On YouTube






Mon, Jun 01, 2015

Space Camp Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced

Four Honored In 2015 Class

The U.S. Space & Rocket Center is pleased to announce the 2015 class of the Space Camp Hall of Fame. These four exceptional individuals are all Space Camp alumni who have achieved professional success in the areas of engineering, aerospace and the arts. They are: Elizabeth Bierman, Senior Project Engineer at Honeywell Aerospace and national President of the Society of Women Engineers; Bobak Ferdowsi, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory Flight Engineer; Susanna Phillips, Metropolitan Opera star; and Dr. Kate Rubins, a NASA astronaut scheduled to fly to the International Space Station in 2016.

"This year's Space Camp Hall of Fame class demonstrates a diverse mix of passion, imagination, determination and intelligence," Dr. Deborah Barnhart, USSRC CEO, said. "These inductees have followed their dreams to realize amazing achievements in their respective careers. From working on Mars Rover Curiosity to singing opera at the Met, these men and women exemplify the spirit of Space Camp. I am honored to welcome them to the Space Camp Hall of Fame." 

The Space Camp Hall of Fame includes graduates and former employees who have distinguished themselves in their respective careers and friends of the Center who have made considerable contributions of personal time, effort or resources to further the goals of the Space Camp programs. Members exhibit leadership among the globe-spanning Space Camp alumni community of almost 700,000, providing guidance and encouragement for alumni to continue to support the Space Camp mission.

This year's inductees join the ranks of 31 Hall of Fame members, including Dr. Wernher von Braun and astronauts Dottie Metcalf-Lindenburger and Samantha Cristoforetti, the first two Space Camp graduates to fly in space.

The 2105 class will be inducted at the Hall of Fame Ceremony and Dinner, to be held July 25, 2015, at the USSRC's Davidson Center for Space Exploration. Todd May, Program Manager for NASA's Space Launch System, is the guest speaker for the evening.

The induction ceremony is part of a three-day Space Camp Alumni Festival Weekend, a family-friendly event that offers participants the chance to relive the Space Camp and Aviation Challenge experience, meet seven astronauts and celebrate the 25th anniversary of Aviation Challenge. The weekend concludes with a concert with Yacht Rock Revue in the USSRC's Shuttle Park.



More News

ANN FAQ: Turn On Post Notifications

Make Sure You NEVER Miss A New Story From Aero-News Network Do you ever feel like you never see posts from a certain person or page on Facebook or Instagram? Here’s how you c>[...]

Aero-News: Quote of the Day (08.06.22)

“We think recruiting should be easier in the next two years because Top Gun is so popular. Many young men dream of flying.” Source: Matt Shen, an instructor pilot assig>[...]

ANN's Daily Aero-Linx (08.06.22)

Aero Linx: HeliOffshore HeliOffshore is the global, safety-focused association for the offshore helicopter industry. Our mission is to lead a collective safety conversation, identi>[...]

ANN's Daily Aero-Term (08.06.22): Intermediate Landing

Intermediate Landing On the rare occasion that this option is requested, it should be approved. The departure center, however, must advise the ATCSCC so that the appropriate delay >[...]

Oshkosh 2022 Morning Brief-Day 3: RV-15, Epic Aircraft, Gogo 5G, and MORE!

07.27.22 Episode Powered by Gogo!!! Join us for the Oshkosh 2022 Daily Morning Brief, live from Wittman Regional Airport! We'll have some current news, a little weather report, liv>[...]

blog comments powered by Disqus





© 2007 - 2022 Web Development & Design by Pauli Systems, LC